Unrepentant Sin Lifestyle?

judges_gavel“If you’re openly living in unrepentant sin, whatever it may be, not just homosexuality, whatever it may be, I believe that’s walking in open rebellion to God and to Jesus Christ. So I would not characterize that person as a Christian because I don’t think the bible would characterize them as a Christian.” ~ ESPN analyst Chris Broussard

Who isn’t “openly living in unrepentant sin”? Who isn’t “walking in open rebellion to God and Jesus Christ”?

According to the statement above, I’m not a Christian and will not be saved if I die while speeding (living in unrepentant sin) down the highway  or while “walking in open rebellion” when the sign says ‘keep off the grass’.

Quotes like these make my head hurt and my eyes spasm while I try to wrap my brain around them.

They make me want to growl and bark if anyone calls me a Christian because in light of these comments being a ‘Christian’ isn’t a compliment.

I want to shout “Christ didn’t call us to be ‘CHRISTIANS’! He didn’t call his disciples CHRISTIANS.  ‘CHRISTIAN’ wasn’t a biblical term of endearment.  ‘Christians’ was a VULGAR adjective used by the pagans, Romans and others. It described the VULGAR Jew or gentile sinner – prostitute, tax collector, (homosexual) follower of Christ.”

“STOP beating people with your bibles!”

And it takes the Holy Spirit and all of Heaven’s angels to bind my tongue when people come up to me, draw a line in the sand and ask me what side I’m on; or worse assume what side I’m on.

Let it be known today and forevermore that I am and will always be on both or all sides.  My answer is simply “Yes!”

I’m not indecisive.

I’m very opinionated.  No matter how hard I try to be open, I still come out a “J” for Judging on the Myers-Briggs.  I see black or white before I’m able to appreciate the subtle hues of gray.Jesus Fish

I see specks in everyone else.  I declare in my heart whether folks are good or bad.  And here I go again, throwing mud at Broussard.  I even hit him a few times with my Bible.

I’m always asking God, “Why am I programmed to judge everyone when it is a sin (usually unrepentant!)?”

Jesus came to the least, lost and left out.  Failure to love our neighbors, ourselves and God is the greatest openly unrepentant sin. Not – homosexuals!

God did NOT call me to judge anyone but ME.  And even there – God has the final ruling.

The glass is half full and half empty.  Want a different answer- get a different glass.

We are saint and sinner.

Is Jason Collins a Christian? Can prostitutes, tax collectors and abortion clinic staff be Christians? Are they living openly in unrepentant sins? Yes! All Christians live openly in unrepentant sins.

God LOVES Jason Collins.  God LOVES homosexuals.  God loves irritable, opinionated, self-righteous openly unrepentant Christians.

Thank you JESUS!

Related post:

Tim Tebow, Jason Collins, and What It Means to be a Christian

Please scroll down to the comments and let me know you stopped by. 

15 thoughts on “Unrepentant Sin Lifestyle?

  1. well said.I see nowhere in the bible where there is a condition to being a christian. Just believe and trust Jesus as your Saviour. He will bring healing to a heart when the time is right.

    • Thank you Lily! Us and them attitudes are silly! Let’s all play in the same sandbox and stop limiting God! Life is so much more fun with friends!

    • The one who says, “I have come to know Him,” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him; 1John 2:4
      Not that keeping His commands makes us a Christian but this is how we show we love Him.

      • Amen! Love and relationship are best said in action. Unfortunately we all fall short, we all lie to ourselves and God, we all need a savior when we die in sin. Thank you Lord for keeping your commandments and saving us from our sinful ways. Amen!

  2. This reminds me of something Derek Webb said on track 7 of his House Show album (which is super great, by the way). He talks about how Christians often cover up their sins, hiding them because if we can pretend they don’t exist, then we feel like we are winning spiritually. He points out that this is living in fear – fear of our sins being exposed. What I love most is that he says that the best thing that could happen to anyone is to have ALL of one’s sins to be fully and publicly exposed (like on the news), because that is how Jesus sees us. And he really brings it home when he says that these real and scary sins make your savior real and great. It’s incredible! As seen in your quotation of Mr. Broussard, Christian subculture can really promote hiding sin, but we should encourage each other to boldly recognize our sin and no longer hide. Think about it: if your sins are small, your savior is small. But how great Thou art! If we can really manage to grasp the gospel, the truth is that we’re saved! Let’s rejoice! How great is that?

  3. I was directed here by your amazing husband, and I must thank you forr insight and its given me something to think about (and remind other Cheistians of when I’m accused of not being Christ-like for supporting and encouraging homosexuals).

    I will point out though, that there are Christians in the Bible, technically. The word appears three times that I can tell in the Bible (twice in Acts, and once in 1 Peter), the first instance (Acts 11:26) is where “the disciples” (I’m assuming Paul is included) are first called “Christians”. (The others, someone asks Paul how to become a Christian, and Eter writes to those who “suffered as a Christian”. (Yes, you may tell by the way I replied to point out a small factual error that I know your husband through his trivia circles. 🙂 )

    • Thank you David! You are most certainly technically correct! The word “Christian” appears in Acts 11:26; 26:28 and 1 Peter 4:16 as a slur or vulgar reference by the Romans or others of the followers of Christ. (New Testament Words by W. E. Vine, also referenced in many Study Bibles) Jesus’ early disciples did not refer to themselves as Christians. It wasn’t accepted by followers until the second century as a term of honor. And I most certainly should have clarified that the early biblical followers of Christ were vulgar sinners. Thank you for bringing me full circle. I will update my post!

    • Thank you for stopping by and your comment. There are links to scriptures:

      Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God

      Matthew 22:36-40 (NIV)

      “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

      Note Paul’s struggle: Romans 7:15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.

      Paul’s struggle was Martin Luther’s struggle as well as everyone’s struggle.

  4. I really don’t think you understand what people mean when they say “unrepentant sin”. It does not mean sin that you haven’t yet asked forgiveness for, like your first examples would suggest. It means sin that you have no desire to stop and are not making any effort to stop doing.

    So when you called your own judging unrepentant sin, that is clearly not the case, because you seem to clearly wish to judge people less. That makes your sin repentant, as is the case with the sins of all Christians. Those who have been touched by the Holy Spirit will necessarily want to stop their sin and will make efforts to do so, even if they sometimes fail. That makes their sin repentant. Those who have not been touched by the Holy Spirit will not be unrepentant in their sin, which can be manifested in many ways, such as getting drunk every weekend with no desire to stop, having premarital sex with your bf/gf with no desire to stop, or yes, even being in a homosexual relationship with no desire to stop. These are all manifestations of unrepentant sin, as opposed to the repentant sin that you or I experience.

    • Luke,

      Thank you very much for stopping by. The Holy Is absolutely awesome!

      I just finished editing my ELCA pastor hubby’s book and your comment.

      I have a question. Please define grace.

    • Also Luke, Please take a moment before responding to research and prayerfully walk in the shoes of someone suffering with addiction.

      It hurts. It is not an easy road as you portray.

      According to your understanding, why did Christ die?

    • Nick,

      God died for YOU! We are all selfish. We are all sinners.

      God should but very oddly does not despise us. So? No actual response required B/C I’m not God -What is your sin? How will you confess? How has the victim been harmed? What reparations must be made? If you are not sure, ask the victim.

      But also remember, you are already forgiven.

      Luke, Wrap yourself in Christ’s love and strength.

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.