A Mule’s Prayer

Zechariah 7:10-12 (NIV)

Do not oppress the widow or the fatherless, the foreigner or the poor. Do not plot evil against each other.

“But they refused to pay attention; stubbornly they turned their backs and covered their ears. They made their hearts as hard as flint and would not listen to the law or to the words that the Lord Almighty had sent by his Spirit

Stubborn MuleSTUBBORN

I’m not as stubborn as a donkey.  I’m usually agreeable.  I like being a mule.  My stubbornness shows my strength. I ride close to the edge but I listen.

I just don’t always agree.

Okay so I don’t always pay attention, I often turn my back, ignore, become quiet and close my ears. I know I don’t always act in my own best interest. Stubbornness hurts my relationships with God, my spouse, children, friends and…everyone else.

Lord take my stubbornness away.  Rip it from my heart.  I don’t want my stubbornness to slow our journey to the cross. Stubbornness isn’t a little sin. Stubbornness is frustrating.  I hate stubbornness. Help tear down this wall between me and the widow, the fatherless, the foreigner, the poor and everyone else. Open my heart.  Open my ears.  Help me move forward.  Thank you Lord! Amen

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

