My Other Right

Left handWhen you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing Matthew 6:3

No problem! My other right (left) has no idea what I’m doing because I’m never sure which side it is on.

I can quickly find my right hand by writing my name in the air because I am right-handed. If it feels right, it must be right! Right?

Finding my left is more challenging and requires a slight delay. I’m never quite sure I’m right even when I think I’ve located it. I’ve heard it has a built-in “L” but that advice requires too much thought and energy.

It also results in catastrophic collisions in exercise classes, line dancing or any other direction required activity.

My pre-school teacher advised my mother to work with me, promising enough practice would eventually develop the instinct but after 46 years, I think it is safe to say practice has not improved my performance.

I continue to find my right by pretending to write my name and then assume the other hand is my ‘other’ right or left.

The bible doesn’t seem to put much emphasis on knowing left from right. Most scriptures discourage going left or right:

Do not turn to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil. Proverbs 4:27

And normally, the right seems the better choice:

The heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left. Ecclesiastes 10:2

I was glad to find that I’m not alone. Apparently the city of Nineveh was full of people and animals like me:

And should I not have concern for the great city of Nineveh, in which there are more than a hundred and twenty thousand people who cannot tell their right hand from their left—and also many animals?” Jonah 4:11

Poor animals! My developmental challenge seems to identify me as a sheep in need of a Good Shepherd:

He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. Matthew 25:33

Rainbow CrossDisclaimer: The views, opinions and assumptions expressed in this post are my own attempt to rationalize my directional challenge and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit or prophesy by any other divine being. They are made by a simple fallen child of God.

 They are not a reflection of my nor God’s political views or opinions. Verses of analysis within this post are assumptions of the author. This post should not be used to discriminate against directionally abled or left-handed individuals.

4 thoughts on “My Other Right

  1. LOL – one way they taught my kids was to have them hold their hands up palms facing outward. then trace from index finger to tip of thumb. The left hand makes the letter L. You can see the L in the handprint in your post. Go figure. I keep hoping to go the way God wants me to go – neither to the left or the right. Don’t need any more detours.

    • Amen! I’ve had a lifetime of scary detours! And Zumba classes rarely give enough time to think much less trace Ls to determine which way is left. I guess it helps me meet everyone else around me when I keep crashing into them lol

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

