Just Walk Away

FarewellTen years ago, I made the most empowering decision of my life!

I couldn’t protect my children and stay connected to my mean, dysfunctional family. I had to walk away from the web of violence.

I’d run out of excuses. The web wasn’t going to magically turn into a fairy-tale castle of hope. They didn’t want to change. I couldn’t change them. And I couldn’t stay connected if they didn’t change. It wasn’t safe! I decided to move on without my scary biological family.

I wrote my father because he was the only family member I’d miss. He apologized for hitting his children. He hit my son once but otherwise never spanked his grandchildren. He quit drinking. He showed kindness. I love my father.

I believe he loves me.

But he also wouldn’t admit the abuse and he wouldn’t stand up to my mother. He had never and would never protect me or my children.

I made a card with a cross on it to briefly and clearly convey three things; I love my father, I looked forward to seeing him in Heaven and I was permanently separating from my parents, siblings and anyone else connected to them in order to keep my children safe.

Here is my farewell letter to my father:

Farewell Dysfunction Letter

Since May 1, 2003, my children and I have lived happily and safely ever after in Christ’s peace! Thank you Lord! Amen!

“Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home! Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live.  Your people are my people, your God is my God; where you die; I’ll die…so help me God!” (Ruth 1:16-17)

Please let me know you stopped by – scroll down to the comments and share your prayers for the men and women caught in the web of violence or share this with a friend who needs to just walk away.  Christ’s peace!

6 thoughts on “Just Walk Away

  1. I know this wasn’t an easy decision for you – and one prayerfully made. Closing major chapters of your life is always difficult, but once you can find peace, it’s freeing your spirit.

    • Thank you Pam! It definitely wasn’t easy. I’m very thankful for my church family. While they may not have known my struggles, they beautifully filled in the gaps, surrounding me with love and support.

      My only regret- not setting my spirit free sooner! Thank you again sister!

  2. Pingback: Born Inside A Jail | Sisters of Christ

  3. Pingback: Trainwreck – Why I Stayed | Sisters of Christ

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

