Look for the Helpers

Mister RogersLook for the Helpers”   ~ Mister (Fred) Rodgers

This lesson is as important for adults as it is for children.  In the wake of the Texas Fertilizer Plant explosion,  Boston Marathon bombing and during the recent Sandy Hook shooting, young and old are shaken to the core, grieving the loss and wondering what is next.  Where is the hope?  Many look up, shouting to God, with tears streaming down faces, asking “Where are you?”

It is natural to feel abandoned and afraid. And it is important to call out to God.

To find God, we need to look no further than as Mister Rogers shared in 1983 to parents around the world, just look through the scary and “look for the helpers”.

I believe God is in the helpers; whether Christian, Jewish, Muslim…or atheist – God is in the helpers. God doesn’t run away from tragedy.  He rolls up his sleeves and gets to work.

I know this is difficult to believe, especially when disaster strikes.  We often miss God’s efforts to save us.  And I am no exception.

Our faith walk is often like the religious joke titled “God Will Save Me.”  There’s a flood and a guy praying to be saved.  God answers with a truck, a boat and even a helicopter but each time the guy says, “No thanks God will save me” until finally the guy drowns. When he gets to heaven he says and asks God “I’ve been your faithful servant! Why didn’t you save me?”  God answers, “I tried. I was in the truck, the boat and the helicopter. What more did you want from me!!?? You are hard to save!”

God tried to rescue me but I’m difficult. My rescue plan never included abandoning the flooding house or my family.  When I prayed I told God the best way to save me such as stopping the flood of abuse while allowing me to keep my family and all of our secrets.  This was my plan; not God’s plan.  I realize now that God led me to a therapist who labeled the abuse, told me to get self-sufficient, run and don’t ever look back! But I answered, “No thanks God will save me.”

God never gave up on me.  God led many people into my life to save me from the cycles of abuse – a Lutheran pastor, a limo driver, the police, a doctor, my husband and many others.

I’m sure there are helpers in your life that have tried to save you.  Who are they?

Please scroll down to the comments section and share your story or a prayer for the helpers.

And when tragedy hits, remember, “look for the helpers!”

Acts 26:17-19 (NIV)

I am sending you to them to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God.

Lord, Thank you for the helpers! Thank you for being there when we hurt and when we are afraid. Thank you for the police, the first responders, the doctors, nurses and everyone who will work to find out what happened and work to make sure it never happens again. Lord heal the wounded, comfort the grieved and love our enemies – especially when it is so hard for us to do so. Lord give us your strength, your shoulder, your hope and your tomorrow! Amen.

4 thoughts on “Look for the Helpers

  1. Lord, I know that you are always there, even in the tragedies in our lives. Open my eyes to see you in the helpers – and when I look around and cannot seem to find you in the tragedies of this life, remind me that perhaps I need to be the helper through which others may see you. Thank you, Lord, for your promises which never fail. Amen.

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

