Born Old

daily-post-footer-promo-1x

All Grown Up

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

I was the last of six children; the baby of the family so naturally I should be immature, irresponsible…babied! But my family had a few issues.

Board games usually resulted in the game being tipped over, being the littlest at dodge ball and other outside activities resulted in injuries; and my older siblings broke every rule my parents ever established (i.e. curfews, drinking, drugs etc…). So I always felt a bit more mature than my wacky older siblings; like I was born old.

My first rite of passage was probably my first high (sorta) heeled shoe for the Homecoming dance when I was 14 years old. Apparently it was a really big deal because my older sister threw a fit. According to my sister, our mother didn’t let her wear high heels until she was 16.  My mother was always letting me do stuff shortly after my sister, like getting my ears pierced, wear make-up etc…

But I got tired of being old. Abuse and neglect robbed me of too much of my childhood. Being grown up is over rated! Thankfully Christ renewed a spirit of youth in me.  I like being silly, goofy and a bit off. It’s more fun to skip, dance, laugh out loud, sing and just have fun!

John 3:4-5 (NRSV)

“How can anyone be born after having grown old? Can one enter a second time into the mother’s womb and be born?” Jesus answered, “Very truly, I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God without being born of water and Spirit.

8 thoughts on “Born Old

    • Shoes are my addiction! I pray you were an awesome big sis SueAnn! And that you get lots of play time now! Approach the throne like a child! AMEN!

  1. I can relate to this so much. I was the younger sister and was much more responsible than my older sister, who was always put in charge over me, much to my frustration. I usually ended up cleaning up her mess and watching her make dangerous choices, than the other way around. I have always been the responsible sibling and I know what you mean about loosing your childhood. Like you, I still act silly with my girls. The Lord has given me a youthful spirit too. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

