Pick Up Your Cross

Matthew 16:24

Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

Jesus, I want to be your disciple.  Help me find myself to deny.  Give me the courage and strength to carry my cross and follow you.  The journey to the cross is difficult.  I have fallen and stumbled so many times.  Thank you Lord for being there to pick me up.  Thank you for wiping my tears.  Thank you for your warm embrace.  Thank you for brushing the dirt off.  Thank you for inspiring me to take another step. Let it rain Lord.  We’ve been through worse.  I love you!  I will go where you go.  Your people will be my people (Ruth 1:16). Amen.

7 thoughts on “Pick Up Your Cross

    • Thank you! Lent is my favorite time of year. It has always been a wonderful time of cleansing, healing and growing. I’m hoping to share a verse and a prayer during the 40 day journey to the cross during Lent.

      • May I ask what Lent means to you or how you apply it in your life? It seems there are many variations of how people choose personally and spiritually to uphold this tradition. I am extremely curious as it not very common here in Australia. I would be blessed to hear your view.

        • Lent is the 40 days between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday.

          Sundays aren’t included in the 40 days because on Sunday we celebrate our Lord! Monday to Saturday we journey with Christ to the cross and the empty tomb.

          As a survivor, Lent provides a daily cleansing of all my past hurts and sins. It gives me the opportunity to mourn my losses and yearn for Christ’s return. I’m reminded I need a savior. I can’t do it myself and Christ took this journey for me.

          I look forward to the empty tomb and the promise to be reunite to those I love.

          Many give something up for Lent. I usually add something such as my commitment to share a daily verse and prayer.

          • Ah I see. Thank you so much. I fast regularly. Different things at different times, depending on which area of weakness needs more discipline of the Lord. However this is always a year round experience for me. I was unsure what I was missing. 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing that. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

