Warning: Music is Hazardous

ViolinDaily Prompt: Musical

WARNING: Music Is Hazardous

Music is dangerous! All musical instruments should come with a disclaimer:

WARNING: Play at your own risk. Not responsible for the calling or devouring by beasts. Failure to play properly can lead to bodily harm.

If you live with beasts as I did most of my life, don’t fool yourself into believing that if you learn to play well enough your beautiful gift will calm the beast into peaceful slumber allowing you to escape because first you have to learn to play which requires practice. And practice can get you killed! Instruments can also be used against you as a weapon. Trust me! Proceed with caution!

When I was in fourth grade I was foolish enough to dream about being a great violinist.  Big mistake!  I should have learned my lesson when I had learned to play the recorder in second grade, but a recorder doesn’t hurt as much as a violin when smashed upside your head!

I loved that violin. It was so beautiful!  I swear that violin began my obsession with wood.  I fondled that violin, smelled and rubbed the resin and made love to it as only a child could do. You would have thought it was my pet and not my musical instrument.  I may have crossed the line and actually worshiped that instrument. Perhaps I still do but I had no idea the harm it would cause.  Dear Lord, why didn’t you warn me?  I promise I wouldn’t have wasted an ounce of my love on that thing if I had only known.

My sister had, to put it politely, ANGER issues and not just the screaming meanies.  We shared a room so I protected myself by piling all my clothes, clean and dirty, on my bed along with every blanket, towel or other cover I could find in the house to sleep under.  It wasn’t much protection when she decided to kick me or head butt me but it was great insulation for her fists and pretty good when she’d thrust her entire body at me.  Actually sometimes that was like a strange massage. But in fourth grade I actually brought into the house and ceremoniously gave my beast the greatest weapon ever used against me – my hard violin case! OUCH! OUCH! OUCH! I can still feel it crashing against my head!

Needless to say – I am not a master violinist!  Play at your own risk.

 

I love music. I’m just not fond of hard violin cases – beware!

1 Samuel 16:23

Whenever the spirit from God came on Saul, David would take up his lyre and play. Then relief would come to Saul; he would feel better, and the evil spirit would leave him.

Thank you Lord for bringing me to safety, a land with no beasts and few fears.  Thank you for all the talented people who can play beautiful music. Music can be so healing, soothing  and FUN!  Thank you! Amen!
3 thoughts on “Warning: Music is Hazardous

    • Agreed! I do not miss my sister’s abuse. I really love music. The Daily Prompt inspired this post after I saw my daughter’s violin case when I was helping her clean her room. I just had to get it out of my head. I really should follow up with an inspirational musical post. Perhaps another day 🙂

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

