Helplessness’s Evil Snare

Daily Prompt: Helpless

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

Control? Oh where art thou control?

Deny thy hold and refuse thy grasp;
Or if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love
And I’ll no longer be a…Coward (?)

I awoke with helplessness.  Helplessness lurked about me, threatening me at every corner.  I heard his steps upon the pavement.  Saw his face in every window. At first I thought it coincidence, I was just paranoid, judgmental but we met before.  It was no chance meeting. I knew his ways, felt his eyes upon me and remembered his craftiness. He knew me better than I knew myself. Helplessness was able.  He could make me doubt, shudder and fear.  He drew up sickness from deep within the bowels of darkness,  threatened to choke joy with a shroud of sorrow.  I thought I’d learned to avoid his grasp but alas I have not learned.  I should never walk alone.

Psalm 10:12
Arise, LORD! Lift up your hand, O God.  Do not forget the helpless.

Matthew 9:36
When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

Lord be my shepherd!  I am caught in Helplessness’s evil snare – again!  Free me from his grasp.  Bring me hope. Amen!

Other Helpless Posts:

Trust With Your Heart

Verse: Enemies? Fear? Panic? Fainting?

Prayer: Cruising with Jesus

5 thoughts on “Helplessness’s Evil Snare

  1. Have mercy! How beautiful and poignant this post is. It grasped my heart and pulled me in. Thank you so much for this beautiful, heartfelt post, my beloved sister in the Lord! “Lord be my shepherd! I am caught in Helplessness’s evil snare – again! Free me from his grasp. Bring me hope. Amen!” Father, this is my prayer as well. What a lovely psalm to the Lord… I am truly moved.

    Love,
    Cheryl

    • Thank you! While I never wish helplessness upon anyone, I’m so glad I’m not alone in the darkness.
      I pray I haven’t offended any of my Shakespeare friends.

      Sometimes it is so much easier to craft a prayer and an image than a ranting post of misery. Thank you for appreciating my sighs.

      Christ Peace.

  2. Pingback: TRAPPED INSIDE « hastywords

  3. Pingback: My Own Personal Grave Digger (Daily Prompt) « Dibbler Dabbler

  4. Pingback: My World: My Life - My Own Personal Grave Digger (Daily Prompt) - Dibbler Dabbler

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

