Get Me to the Church on Time

I should begin my daily posts:

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit †. My last confession was yesterday.  Lord forgive me for I sin, I confess…

White Rabbit
Alice In Wonderland

Time is not my friend! I’m usually often late! I’m not always late.  I’m sometimes on-time and occasionally I am early.

But I sinned since my last confession, I was late for a meeting at church last night, late getting to work this morning, stayed late at work and was late getting home. Time is not my friend! Nor am I a friend of time.

I pause.

I want to defend myself, make great excuses, share all of my good Samaritan moments saving my neighbor’s life, feeding  Jesus and making sure he is safe in a hotel before traveling on my way to service, but I have no neighbors between the church and parsonage preventing my timely arrival. I’d love to throw Satan under the bus but even the devil won’t take credit for this sin.

I’m late, I’m late for a very important date…

Yet I pause.

I’ve prayed for God to help me with time but my prayers result in more obstacles and more untimeliness. Time is a strange joke between God and me.

I’ve prayed to be late.  I’ve even prayed never to arrive!

My post, Say NO to the Mess! described the day I hoped I never made it to church to marry my first husband. I’m sure even the pastor and my future husband prayed I wouldn’t showed up but thanks to my mother I arrived.  I was an hour and a half late but still the groom was unhitched, the guests were still seated and the pastor was still waiting.

Time is not my friend! Nor am I a friend of time!

My enemies are no longer lining the pews.  They are filled with friends and a new family yet…

I’m late, I’m late for a very important date…with my Lord!  I have no excuse.  I sin. I fall short! Please forgive me again!

AND for my sake get me to the church on time! Amen! 

6 thoughts on “Get Me to the Church on Time

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

