Blessed are the Quirky

Do you have a quirky friend or relative? Someone who is a bit strange, odd, different, definitively not normal in a good way?  Quirky is the perfect description because nothing else conveys that positive spin.  Quirky people are more than unique, they may be beautiful but are also humorous in an innocent, straight forward way. I love quirky movies with quirky characters.  I crack up every time I watch (500) Days of Summer (2009) with Zooey Deschanel. And I’m still chuckling over quirky lines and characters in Moonrise Kingdom (2012).  These aren’t Christian films, nor are they rated G but neither is the Bible.

The characters in these movies remind me of quirky Bible characters like the disciples. They have sorted pasts with too many issues and not enough tissues to wipe their issues  away.  All of Jesus’ disciples have moments when they seem to be suffering from a major concussion or amnesia immediately followed by or after some completely profound, Holy Spirit inspired statement.

Jesus talked about these quirky folks in verse 8 of his Sermon on the Mount:

Blessed are the pure in heart (quirky),
for they will see God.   Matthew 5:8

Biblical Quirky Sister (Numbers 27)

The daughters of Zelophehad– Mahlah, Noah and Hoglah and Milcah and Tirzah — are notable quirky sisters for winning the right to inherit their father’s land. Their parents had five daughters and no sons. They are quirky because according to the laws of their time, they are entitled to nothing but boldly go to Moses and ask:

“Our father …died for his own sins… he left no sons… why should our father’s name die out … just because he had no sons? So give us an inheritance among our father’s brothers.” (v.3-4)

This is bold and quirky because  women’s rights didn’t exist in biblical times.  Right?  So, they were either extremely quirky (mentally challenged, very pure in heart) or just plain crazy. Otherwise, why ask such a rude, brash, inappropriate question risking intense humiliation or death for being such ungrateful, ignorant, simple-minded women?

Have you ever asked one of those quirky questions, followed by a loud gasped in the room implying, “how dare you…”, only to be answered with “just because!”; leaving you still wondering why?

I ask these questions all the time.  I should probably save time by inserting my foot into my mouth as soon as I wake up. Given that this is over 3,000 years ago, and considering women in America had very limited property rights until after they received the right to vote in 1920, we expect Moses to simply cast these selfish, ungrateful women out.  How dare they waste his time?  Right?

However in verse 5, Moses “brings their case to God”.  God’s response:

“Zelophehad’s daughters are right. Give them land as an inheritance among their father’s relatives. Give them their father’s inheritance. Verse 6-7

Does this ruling apply only to these women or does God give a broader stroke? In verses 8-11 God tells Moses to tell the People of Israel:

“If a man dies and leaves no son, give his inheritance to his daughter. If he has no daughter, give it to his brothers. If he has no brothers, give it to his father’s brothers. If his father had no brothers, give it to the nearest relative so that the inheritance stays in the family. This is the standard procedure for the People of Israel, as commanded by God through Moses.”

Wow!  God heard, God validated and God answered these women simply because they were quirky enough to ask. I love pulling out scriptures that show how much more progressive God’s Old Testament nation was than any other in modern history.

I know I’m quirky. People often laugh at something I say when I’m not trying to be funny. I’m told I have a very strange thought process.  When I’m on a committee or project, I ask lots of questions when more question marks begin to form in my small little brain than can be contained.  I’m often told that I’m not like anyone else or any other pastor’s wife or that I’m “different” without any further explanation. I know I’m odd.  Thankfully, I’m usually odd in a good way scattered among other just wacky times. God’s love letter (Bible) makes it clear that I’m not alone. God is always with me, inspiring me to ask bold questions resulting in justice and a quirky happy dance for my fellow quirky sisters, daughter and me. Praise God.

Which quirky biblical sisters inspire you?

Lord bless all my quirky sisters. Keep us pure in heart.  Reveal Yourself. Let us know you are always present. Make us always aware of your loving arms. Give us the courage to boldly approach Your throne, ask our questions and accept Your loving justice. Thank you for making us part of one heavenly family. You are an awesome God! Thank you! Amen

2 thoughts on “Blessed are the Quirky

  1. Well there quirky sister…where have you been hiding?? I believe you blog is going to bring joy to many sisters around here that are suffering much.
    Nice to meet you..
    Stephanie ~streim~

    • Thank you AlwayzHis! I appreciate your encouragement, pray God uses my challenges for His good and will do my quirkiest happy dance everytime someone shares that my testimony helped. God’s Peace and abundent blessings.

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

