Most Beautiful Love Letter

I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing the LORD’s praise,
for he has been good to me.

                                         Psalm 13:5-6

I love romance, especially romantic comedies because they combine my two favorite emotions; love & joy.  It doesn’t matter whether it is a book,  a movie,  a sitcom  or just a silly cartoon.  If it makes me laugh and cry-I love it!  What about you?

I admit I haven’t always loved or even believed in romance. Before I experienced love, I thought love was a fairy tale, something I would never get the pleasure of experiencing.  Although I was full of doubt, and wanted to slink away or gag when I heard a “real life” fairy tale, I hoped and prayed for one as the tears streamed down my face while watching all those sappy movies; wishing it was me.

If we’re going to take this journey together, let’s begin by defining what or most importantly whom we are studying; and establish a few basic goals to help us to remain focused and monitor our progress.  Sound absolutely horrifyingly boring?

I’m kinda nerdy so I can get a little too excited about the process but I’m only fond of structure when it helps me, not hinders. Regardless of how I feel about rules, law (rules) and gospel (love) do go together, just like opposites compliment one another.  The greatest love stories always have conflict, that’s what makes them so powerful. And the Bible is no exception.  It is the most beautiful collection of love letters written by God.

The Bible is full of romance and grief.  Our losses provide our greatest testimony of love.

In short, we are in search of the greatest truth-LOVE!  We will use the most beautiful love letter ever written-the Bible.  Did you know that there are over 600 references to “love” in the bible?  Don’t believe me, follow the link- just click on the word and it’ll take you to my BibleGateway search.

What I love most about reading the Bible is how so much of it is written in the first person (me, myself & I); and in over 700 places God actually says “for you”.  So by just reading it, I enter into prayer (a conversation w/ God).  God is speaking directly to me through the pages, these Holy Spirit inspired words were written for me to hear, Christ died on the cross for me-the most beautiful love letter ever written was written to me-Wow!

As such, I am inspired to write the prayers for this blog in first person so as sisters we are all sharing the same prayer.

 And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body  given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”

In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for youLuke 22:18-20

If you’re not a Bible scholar; don’t worry, this is the study for you.  We’ll review the basics. If you are, great, I look forward to the ways God will use you to keep us on our path. Just open that love letter, after all, it was written for you!

Share your favorite love letter from God (scripture verse) that speaks to your heart:

7 thoughts on “Most Beautiful Love Letter

  1. Hey Sister, one of my favorites is from Ephesians 3:16-19 being rooted and established in love, may you have power to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know his love that surpassess knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. WOW! My all time favorite move is Pretty Woman in fact I watched it again this weekend. A prostitue turned his life around. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzii8IuL8lk . Thanks for letting me play!

  2. For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. 2Timothy 1:7. This is my favorite because it has gotten me through various hard times in my life.

  3. I like Jeremiah 29: 11-13. “11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

    Usually verse 11 speaks to me most, but tonight I’m thinking how wonderful verse 12 is: God promises to listen to me, and how “romantic” verse 13 is: I seek with all my heart. It sounds very passionate.

    If I had to find a quote to respond back to God’s love letter, I would probably choose Psalm139: 13-14 “13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

    “You’ve Got Mail” is my favorite. I like anything with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan (Sleepless in Seattle!), but having met my husband via email, I am biased toward “You’ve Got Mail.” 🙂

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

