All About Me

Daily Prompt: All About Me

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

 

My About page covers the answer to the our daily prompt’s question.

 

So I’d prefer to see this as an awesome invitation to re-post my April 22, 2012 post titled “All About Me

love triangle Luke 10FOCUS! Who should be the focus or object of my love? Is it God, my neighbor… or me? It sounds counter intuitive; selfish.  It can’t possibly be about me.

How many times have you heard or said to someone “It’s not all about you!

Never focus on yourself. Good Christian women do not focus on themselves. God is relational.  Therefore, the right bible study answer is always God; we must first focus on God. Right!?

Jesus said in Luke 10:27:

“‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’ ; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ”

If Jesus is telling me to love God, does the action begin with me? If I ‘m programmed to love God and my neighbor automatically and unconditionally, would Jesus command me to do it?  I just would. Right?

I’m not a robot, I wasn’t programmed to automatically love God. I’m free to love or hate whoever I want; regardless of the consequences.  It would be easier if I was programmed to do the right thing. But I’m definitely not.

I’m impulsive.  I often skip steps I think are irrelevant or will slow me down, only to find myself retracing my steps to complete the most basic and simple step that I decided to leap over because I thought it was fun to skip, I was distracted or in just too much of a hurry.

Of course after I’ve skipped a few steps, my foundation becomes faulty and  I have to go back to reinforce it. Obviously I would have saved time if I took time to complete all the steps the first time.

My inability to stay focused is usually the root of my downfall.

And the most basic step I tend to forget is that it really is about ME!

I have a choice. God requires me to make a daily choice and take responsibility for my choices.

When I skip  this step, and I usually do, I get myself into a heap of trouble when I focus on or blindly cast my will to other people; even God. Yes, even God.

The same stupid brick wall I’ve crashed into a million times is not far away when I allow Satan to fool myself into believing that I’ve totally given my will over to God, believing I have an auto pilot policy, I can friend God on Facebook, I’m covered for life, no further action needed from me.

If I’m lucky, I may be inspired to take a second to look in my rear view mirror to see Jesus with his jogging shoes trying to keep up with me. But, shortly after…CRASH! I get up, turn back to God and start yelling.  “Hey! Whatya do that for?  Thought we had an agreement.”

Like Adam, I blame God for putting the wall there, I blame God for my sins and I blame God for not stopping me from running into the wall (again); and it takes me quite awhile before I recognize that if I turned around to yell at God, I’d lost focus.

I’m not even pleasant when I don’t crash.  When I pull over to allow Jesus who I left at home or wherever else, I have no consideration for however long He’s been running behind me.   I’m irritated.  I don’t take responsibility for failing to ask Him to join me, I don’t take responsibility for leaving Him behind and I’m always complaining He’s too slow. I blame Him for making me late.

Just imagine what I’d say if Jesus said He’s afraid to get in the car because I’m acting scary; or if He demanded a please.

So if I can’t get it right with God, how will I ever get it right with my sisters?

The two most abusive people in my life were my mother and my biological sister.

Love? The greatest truth?  What do I know about truth?  I’ve kept secrets my entire life.  I couldn’t air our dirty laundry. My parents would have killed me.

Love is not as simple or as natural as its portrayed in Hallmark  commercials.  Love must be learned, it must be experienced, otherwise why would the Bible have so many instructions, chapters, books and verses about love.

Jesus commanded me to love my sisters as myself.  Therefore, I must learn to fully love myself.  It’s not a sin, it’s a command.

God first loved me.  He sent His only son to die for my sins.  He wants me to have eternal life. John 3:16

The good news is that I don’t have to retrace my steps to find God;  God wrote me a love letter to learn how to love; Jesus doesn’t stay wherever  I left Him; when I was baptized the Holy Spirit came to dwell within me, and just by calling out his name, my Lord answers me.

Get behind me Satan-It is all about me!

Share:

Why is it important for women to learn to love themselves?

7 thoughts on “All About Me

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All About Me … The beginning of Lent | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Nice response seeker. That’s exactly what I was going to say! Love starts from within from the time of your baptism. Love your Lord and Savior and your neighbor! Amen!

  4. Oh Karen this post is extremely profound! I can relate so much to all of it. You have such a wonderful way with words to express these things which I have also been battling with, especially recently in my own walk (sprint). The profit who gave me the name “The Water Bearer” also told me that I am worn out because my journey with God is not a sprint, its a marathon, I needed to pace myself. I knew exactly what he meant, but rather than pace myself, I hit the breaks and almost stopped completely. Then when I got the shove to get going again I am straight back to running! I only seem to have 2 gears, Fast and Stop! Thank you for this great analogy for me to realise that the steps I am trying to skip over will only be ones I have to return to and waste more time. Keep up the fabulous work! Blessings to you!

    • Thank you for your encouragement and letting me know I’m not alone. I’m not sure I was born with a medium speed. Maybe when we get to Heaven we’ll find out that attention deficit is a blessing not a curse – like a spiritual workout LOL Christ’s Peace!

  5. Pingback: All About Me – What is BBT? | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

