“Ain’t Enough Tissues”

daily-post-footer-promo-1x

Quote Me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

TissuesThere ain’t enough tissues,

For all my issues.

I’m not sure when the first time I said this but I’ve been saying it for years and now my children quote it. We even sing it.

I recall saying it several years ago during a long tearful phone call with a friend.  I’d been in therapy for a while and was dealing with the past as well as all the aftermath of a dysfunctional life.  Like many, I’d been taught not to cry, hold it all in, sort it, store it, but just don’t express it.

I don’t think I ever stopped crying.  I just stopped crying publically. I continue to shed silent tears late at night, under my covers, in the bathroom or curled up in the back of my closet behind the clothes.

Thanks to therapy, the flood came and I never thought it was going to stop.  I reached for the last tissue and realized there weren’t enough for all my issues, which made me laugh.  Now my children and I say this quote whenever we just get tired of crying.

Thank you Lord for always providing laughter amongst the tears. Amen.

1 Peter 5:7
Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

 

 

 

John 11:35 (NIV) “Jesus wept.”

8 thoughts on ““Ain’t Enough Tissues”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quote Me « Pride in Madness

Leave a Reply. Anonymous replies accepted.

